Don’t Stop Believin’

137993176054431737_nGgCTOVT_cThe very man who has argued you down, will sometimes be found, years later, to have been influenced by what you said” – CS Lewis.

The older I get the more I realize what I don’t know.  There’s an old joke about how when you’re 17 you should move out of your parents house while you still know everything.  I used to think it was true. Sometimes I wonder though if it’s completely pointless to try to make a difference in the world or try to influence those around you for the better.  Not because I, in my infinite knowledge (ha!), know so much more than you – but because I don’t, I didn’t, and I just don’t want them to do the same dumb things I’ve done.  I try not to tell other people what to do, but when they ask – I feel obligated to.

Still, I worry if I am simply wasting my breath or if old Jack Lewis (me and CS Lewis are on a first named basis you see) really was as smart as I wish I was, and that eventually people remember.  Eventually people remember you bothered to try and help shine a light on something.  Do we stop sharing the lessons we’ve learned to prevent others from making the same mistake because we’re convinced they’re not listening?  It’s a constant struggle keeping on keeping on especially when nobody else notices.  There’s the rub, but at the end of the day why not keep bothering?  I struggle with discouragement and self doubt probably 23 out of 24 hours in every given day…and I’m sleeping through 8 of those – but today?  Today I think why not?  Thanks Jack old boy.  Keep ’em comin’

Leave a Reply

