Farmer’s Market? Farmers Market? Farmers’ Market?

A misuse of the apostrophe s?  A possible misnomer really since you’re neither buying farmers and they’re not the ones shopping there.

Still, I think every self respecting small town should have a Farmers Market of some description.  I think larger towns (cough, cough, Truro) should have an all year long market.  Maybe I’m just being selfish.  Maybe I’m sick of the crappy garlic I’m forced to buy at the grocery store already that came from 5 zillion miles away and barely resembles garlic anymore.  But that’s just me.

I know I’m not going to get fresh beans in March, but I might get some semi-fresh garlic and some eggs.  I love Farmer’s Markets.  I don’t always love the squishy crowds a la Halifax Farmers Market, but I like the smells, the sounds, how friendly people are.  Knowing that I can get local ingredients is really nice, especially in this “global economy” I’m so completely sick of.  By the way “global economy” is a term that should be shelved, put out to pasture, deleted from our memories!  I hate it almost as much as when seemingly intelligent people say “irregardless”.  Where was I?   I just think if a small town like Tatamagouche can have a year-long (mostly year-long) Farmer’s  Market – what is wrong with us Truro?  Then again this is the same town convinced some kind of apocalypse is on the horizon if a zip-line is installed in Victoria Park.  My husband included.

Regardless – I have to give up the lazy approach to the simple life.  I have a little homework to do since those farm fresh eggs aren’t just going to show up on my doorstep anytime soon.

In the meantime: http://nsfarmersmarkets.ca/

2 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market? Farmers Market? Farmers’ Market?”

Leave a Reply

