Sprouting Ideas – Local Eating to the Extreme

OK so I’m avoiding any small amount of real work I have to do in favour of walking my dogs and enjoying the sun.  The sun.  Oh yeah, maybe I can give sprouting another try.  NOTE dear readers – don’t try to sprout your little alfalfa seeds in February…it’s just a little bit sad.

Last summer I bought some sprouting trays.  I’ve had great success with alfalfa Sprouts, Broccoli Sprouts and Radish Sprouts.  They all grow to a lovely bright green colour ready for snacking easily on a warm windowsill that gets a lot of light.  (Except in February which we’ve already discussed).  Still the golden ring of sprouting for me is the elusive mung bean sprout.  Last year I tried buying some mung beans from the bulk barn – let’s just say it’s a good thing I have dental coverage (kidding).  That didn’t work out so well.  Few of them sprouted to be honest.  Then, this year while buying chicken supplies I noticed a new sprouting section at a local feed store.  They had mung bean sprouts.  Now if you’re not sure they’re the sprouts most used in Chinese food cooking, salads etc..  If you’ve ever tried to purchase these little sprouts at a grocery store you know the problem.  They’re seldom fresh, often icky looking and that’s even if you can get them.  The prospect of growing my own mung bean sprouts from actual sprouting seeds made me smile thinking about the stir frys I my husband would make was great!  However, while the actual seeds sprouted nicely they didn’t get very big and looked really gross.  I’m still trying to figure out what I did wrong.

In the meantime you can’t lose with any of the salad sprouts.  Sprouting kits aren’t that expensive and the health benefits are huge (how’s that for anecdotal?).  Not to mention how neat it is to watch them grow!

It also gives you something else to do to avoid trying to figure out what you want to be when you grow up.  Or maybe that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

